20230413AugeConfWebsite

Music in Series – How Soundtracks Shape the Way We See

Thu, 06.06.24 / 13:15 - 14:30
Cinenova / Theatre 1

The symbiosis between music and moving images is an intimate one. Music can act as a lens that heightens atmosphere, evokes emotions, and changes our connection to what we see.  In the best cases music not only enhances what we see, it shapes our viewing experience on a fundamental level.

In the best cases music and series (or music and film) are closely entwined to create an experience that in the age of social media virality can lend new life to old classics or catapult unknown bands to global success. The resurrection of Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill” through pivotal scenes in STRANGER THINGS or Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s “Murder on The Dancefloor” through SALTBURN are just two recent examples, while soundtracks to series like EUPHORIA and THE WILDS are deeply engrained in the shows DNA.

Exploring the use of music in film and series this session dives deep into the processes of creating scenes that resonate with audiences while seeking answers to questions like: What do successful collaborations between music supervisors and creatives look like? What are the biggest challenges to finding music that connects to a series vision?

Catherine Grieves, award-winning and Emmy nominated Music Supervisor, shares her experiences and insights from working on series with innovative and extraordinary series like KILLING EVE, RAIN DOGS, SLOW HORSES and EXTRAORDINARY as well as feature films like HOW TO HAVE SEX, ONE LIFE and GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Vol. 3.

20230413AugeConfWebsite

Music in Series – How Soundtracks Shape the Way We See

Do., 06.06.24 / 13:15 - 14:30
Cinenova / Saal 1

Die Symbiose zwischen Musik und bewegten Bildern ist eine sehr enge. Musik kann wie eine Linse wirken, die die Atmosphäre verstärkt, Emotionen hervorruft und unsere Verbindung zu dem, was wir sehen, verändert. Im besten Fall unterstreicht Musik nicht nur das Gesehene, sondern prägt unser Seherlebnis auf einer grundlegenden Ebene.

In den besten Fällen sind Musik und Serie (oder Musik und Film) eng miteinander verwoben, um ein Erlebnis zu schaffen, das im Zeitalter der Social-Media-Viralität alten Klassikern neues Leben einhauchen oder unbekannte Bands zum Welterfolg katapultieren kann. Die Wiederauferstehung von Kate Bushs "Running Up That Hill" durch Schlüsselszenen in STRANGER THINGS oder Sophie Ellis-Bextors "Murder on The Dancefloor" durch SALTBURN sind nur zwei Beispiele aus jüngster Zeit, während Soundtracks zu Serien wie EUPHORIA und THE WILDS tief in der DNA der Shows verwurzelt sind.

In dieser Sitzung wird der Einsatz von Musik in Filmen und Serien erforscht. Dabei werden die Prozesse zur Schaffung von Szenen, die beim Publikum Anklang finden, vertieft und Antworten auf Fragen gesucht wie: Wie sieht eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Music Supervisors und Kreativen aus? Was sind die größten Herausforderungen, wenn es darum geht, Musik zu finden, die mit der Vision einer Serie übereinstimmt?

Catherine Grieves, preisgekrönte und für den Emmy nominierte Music Supervisorin, teilt ihre Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus der Arbeit an innovativen und außergewöhnlichen Serien wie KILLING EVE, RAIN DOGS, SLOW HORSES und EXTRAORDINARY sowie an Spielfilmen wie HOW TO HAVE SEX, ONE LIFE und GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Vol. 3.