20230413AugeConfWebsite

SerienCampus: Areena Stories YLE

Thu, 06.06.24 / 13:30 - 14:15
Herbrand’s / Bahnhaus
Elisabeth Keinänen, Hyppe Salmi

Areena Stories YLE – Finding New Voices for Public Broadcasting

Nurturing new talent had become more important than ever. In a climate where private broadcaster and streamer reposition themselves along economic considerations, the role of public broadcasters as a contact point between media industry and a younger generation of creators is essential to guarantee inclusiveness and access.  

Finnish broadcaster YLE has a long history of creating environments for young talent to grow and create. With Areena Stories the broadcaster spearheaded an imitative that connects to young audiences and offers opportunities of participation by commissioning various forms of content.

How does Areena Stories connect so effectively to younger audiences? How do both sides benefit from this approach? And why are agility and flexibility one of the biggest assets in an accelerated media environment of streaming and social media?

Just some of the questions this session by Hyppe Salmi (YLE) will answer.

Speakers

Elisabeth Keinänen (Producer, Luodo Ltd)

Luodo Ltd
Producer

Hyppe Salmi (Executive producer, Yle Drama) (photo by Yle Jyrki Valkama)

YLE Drama
Executive producer

20230413AugeConfWebsite

SerienCampus: Areena Stories YLE

Do., 06.06.24 / 13:30 - 14:15
Herbrand’s / Bahnhaus
Elisabeth Keinänen, Hyppe Salmi

Areena Stories YLE – Finding New Voices for Public Broadcasting

Die Förderung neuer Talente ist wichtiger denn je geworden. In einem Klima, in dem sich private Sender und Streamer nach wirtschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten neu positionieren, ist die Rolle der öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender als Schnittstelle zwischen der Medienindustrie und einer jüngeren Generation von Kreativen von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Inklusion und Zugang zu gewährleisten.

Die finnische Rundfunkanstalt YLE hat eine lange Tradition bei der Schaffung von Umgebungen, in denen junge Talente wachsen und kreativ sein können. Mit Areena Stories hat der Sender eine Initiative ins Leben gerufen, die sich an ein junges Publikum wendet und durch die Vergabe von Aufträgen für verschiedene Formen von Inhalten Möglichkeiten der Beteiligung bietet.

Wie schafft es Areena Stories, ein junges Publikum so effektiv anzusprechen? Wie können beide Seiten von diesem Ansatz profitieren? Und warum sind Agilität und Flexibilität einer der größten Vorzüge in einem beschleunigten Medienumfeld mit Streaming und sozialen Medien?

Dies sind nur einige der Fragen, die dieser Vortrag von Hyppe Salmi (YLE) beantworten wird.

Speaker

Elisabeth Keinänen (Producer, Luodo Ltd)

Luodo Ltd
Produzentin

Hyppe Salmi (Executive producer, Yle Drama) (photo by Yle Jyrki Valkama)

YLE Drama
Produzentin